Reflections on class #13: webinar wrap-up!

Wow, what a week we had! We all hosted (as a group of 3, or in my case, 2) a webinar on either copyright issues or on a underrepresented/underserved group in libraries. My partner, Kirsten, and I chose to do our presentation on the LGBT*Q community and some methods as to how best serve that group in a library setting.

Basically, I was terrified before, terrified during, and kind of terrified after. It was a weird experience for me. As much as talking in front of people makes me nervous, not being able to see my audience and gauge them ended up being really difficult. I guess I never really realized how much I count on nonverbal cues from my audience before!

From the surveys we collected back, it seems like people really liked our topic and found it useful. I know one thing I have to work on is pacing; I’m a fast talker, anyway, and when I have a script, that exacerbates the problem. I also stumbled a few times saying the LGBT*Q acronym three or four times in one sentence. We also had an audio issue where I accidentally pushed the Talk button before we were ready, so you could hear a few runaway words, but I think overall, our audio worked better than we expected. Although I wish I was one of those people who could go off-script and be okay, I’m not, and so even though it sounded like I was reading from a script, I think that was still the best decision. I have a tendency to get caught up in my words, and even having bullet points might have caused me to mess up what I was saying.

Just like with every other activity in this class, even though I’ve been terrified before them, I’m really glad I did it. Not only can I put it on a resume, but I think with something like webinars, the first one is always the hardest, and we’ve got that one done!

We also attended three other webinars, and all of those were great. I went to one on welcoming millenials into the library, on intergenerational families (how to welcome grandfamilies into the library) and how best to serve the homeless/poverty-stricken in the library. All of them were incredibly useful and I was really proud of my classmates. I know a lot of us were really nervous, but we did it!

I’m still not 100% sure how I feel about webinars, to be honest. I like that I can attend webinars even if I’m halfway across the country, but there’s just something about them I can’t quite put my finger on that makes me not 100% sold on them. I’m sure that’ll change, because the library world loves them!

One thought on “Reflections on class #13: webinar wrap-up!

  1. You guys did great! And you didn’t speak too fast. In fact, you sounded really passionate about your topic! I learned a lot from your webinar, especially those suggestions made for conservative areas.

Leave a Reply

