Reflections on class #3

When Kristin first described our in-class “project” to make a graphic/poster/meme/comic/etc. about a question we had during our readings on information literacy/transliteracy, a mixture of anxiety and fear began to well up inside of me. I’m typically not good with time limits that are really short (timed anything are a real joy for me, let me tell you), and I’m often in a state of inferiority when I look around at all my fantastic classmates here at SI. (I’m not sucking up, I do really think you guys are awesome.) I have times where I can be witty, but those moments take time to craft; I’m not instantaneously witty or funny. (Although I’m not sure I’m ever that witty or funny, but hey, I’ll give myself the benefit of the doubt.)

But, clearly, I got through it.

And so then we got to walk around and discuss with classmates their creations and questions. I think all of the questions were extremely sound ones and I was amazed by the differences in how we created our “masterpiece;” some did comics, some graphics, a mindmap was used, and so were many memes. Many of the questions I would like to explore more, and that really just shows how complex information literacy/transliteracy is.

I think the activity with the Google Glass article was interesting because we did take it at face-value. (Although I think some of us had seen the article before, so some weren’t, but I know I should have been more cognizant of the fact that it was a shady website that it was hosted on.) All it took was a classmate to claim she had seen it on AP for the rest of us to nod in agreement. I think we were collectively…embarrassed as a class (maybe that was just me), that we’re future librarians (informationists/archivists/etc.) and it took us so long to realize this wasn’t probably the most credible source. (Somehow, I don’t think we’ll fall into that trap again!) But us (who are burgeoning information professionals) falling into that trap shows how easy it is, even for people trained to handle information, to be caught up. Imagine if you’re not really trained in information literacy…imagine how easy it would be to fall into that trap. I remember a few years ago, there was supposedly a study that was released that redheads would go extinct within a pretty short time. I had friends emailing me this article (along with a few HAHAs), and it took all of 2 minutes to discern it was false, but many many people I knew thought it was true.

Overall, I learned a great deal in this class (that I shouldn’t quit my day job to be a graphic designer is something I’ve always known but was reconfirmed), and these kind of classes that force me out of my comfort zone of lecture-based classes and into actively engaging in my learning are something I look forward to more in the future.

(Also, while doing our project, I started using a new tool someone had just told me about called Canva, which makes amazing graphics, if anyone needs that sort of thing.)

One thought on “Reflections on class #3

  1. Oh, how well I know your fears from this one! I am totally in the same boat as you are– my fellow SI students give me a MAJOR inferiority complex, and I feel like nothing I do will measure up to the things that my classmates have already DONE, let alone to the things that they will DO in the future. I often feel like I don’t belong here at all– that I am some sort of pretender that was let in by mistake.

    That said, the meme project was interesting. I had never thought of it as a way to discuss serious questions– but it actually did that quite well. And I felt a little better that my comic got a few laughs….

Leave a Reply

